E.L. James is the public’s favourite as Fifty Shades of Grey wins the Specsavers Book of the Year vote


December 26, 2012

The popular fiction title written by E L James has been named the Specsavers National Book of the Year for 2012. She was the overall winner of the public vote which comprised winners of all ten categories from the Specsavers National Book Awards.

Fifty Shades of Grey won over 75% of the public vote, which is no surprise given the book’s domination of both the charts and headlines since its release.

The book has now sold well in excess of six million copies in the UK and has become the bestselling book in the UK since records began.

The title scooped the award for Specsavers Popular Fiction Book of the Year and so entered into the running for Specsavers Book of the Year up against some of the most popular books of 2012.

Winner, E L James, said: ‘Thank you so much for this wonderful award. I am truly honoured. I have to thank the readers and the retailers for making Fifty Shades of Grey the success it has become. It’s really quite overwhelming.’

Dame Mary Perkins, Specsavers founder, said: ‘These awards were a celebration of the books that people took to their hearts and in some cases made the headlines in 2012. Anyone given book tokens for Christmas only needs to look at the shortlist for inspiration as to what to spend them on.’

‘I’d like to extend my warmest congratulations to E L James on winning the Specsavers National Book of the Year.’

The Specsavers National Book Awards were hosted by TV’s Lorraine Kelly and Dame Mary Perkins on Tuesday 4 December, acknowledging popular authors old and new.

The following titles were shortlisted for the award by members of the Book Academy and announced at the National Book Awards on 4 December at the Mandarin Oriental by TV’s Lorraine Kelly and Dame Mary Perkins:

Specsavers Popular Fiction Book of the Year:
Fifty Shades of Grey by E L James (Arrow)
Autobiography of the Year:
My Animals and Other Family by Clare Balding (Viking Adult)
Magic 105.4 FM Popular Non-Fiction Book of the Year:
Is It Just Me? by Miranda Hart (Hodder and Stoughton)
National Book Tokens Children’s Book of the Year:
Ratburger by David Walliams (HarperCollins Children’s)
WHSmith Food & Drink Book of the Year:
The Hairy Dieters by Si King and Dave Myers (Weidenfeld & Nicholson)
Audible.co.uk Audiobook of the Year:
The Woman Who Went to Bed for a Year by Sue Townsend read by Caroline Quentin (Whole Story Audiobooks)
Waterstones UK Author of the Year:
Bring Up The Bodies by Hilary Mantel (4th Estate)
Crime Book of the Year available on iBookstore:
A Wanted Man by Lee Child (Bantam Press)
International Author of the Year in partnership with Google Play™:
The Snow Child by Eowyn Ivey (Headline Review)
New Writer of the Year:
The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry by Rachel Joyce (Doubleday)

The awards were produced and staged by Cactus TV, executive produced by Amanda Ross. A highlights package was broadcast on Lorraine on Daybreak on Wednesday 5 December and Magic FM broadcast interviews and clips from the night itself. Cactus TV are the foremost producers of Book programming in Britain, producing over 30 book related shows a year plus their book awards ceremonies.

Google Play is a trademark of Google Inc.